Rural is as rural does.

2016-10-10 09.23.12There is a Mjölnir hanging from my rear view mirror, and several Norse themed decals (from the Etsy store Beloved Viking Vinyl, and Heathens Against Hate). It is easily identifiable, I know, because it is the only one like it. I’m not saying I’m the only Heathen in Montana — far from it, as I have recently been in contact with some from Billings– but I am saying that the community here is thinly spread. And sadly, I like community. That is one of the reasons that I’ve decided to start blogging again, aside from liking to hear myself type. I want to reach out, I want to connect, and I want to discuss the things that I am passionate about. And maybe, just maybe, I want to see more Big Sky Heathen visibility.

In the long run, I would like to be a part of a more active community and invest some time into forming a local kindred. I am also making plans to participate in one or more clergy programs so that I can provide that manner of resource to Big Sky Heathens. All of this being said, I also have a strong belief in transparency. I am not a reconstructionist. I value the input from recon Heathens, but that path is not for me. I am more eclectic and mystic within my practices. I also include Loki within my veneration — He has played an important role within my life, and (to me) plays an important role within lore. I absolutely do not support people tearing each other down and saying that the way that they practice is “wrong”. People find faith in different ways. Many will experiment and leave, and I am not bothered by that. That, to me, gives less of a negative impression of my faith than the racists Neo-Nazis that co-opt Heathen concepts and symbols for their hatred. I do not support or condone White Supremacy, racism, homophobia, transphobia, misogyny, sexism, ableism or any other form of discrimination.

I support learning, sharing, awareness, community and respect for life. And I look forward to writing more.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

